We Bought 7 Dog Probiotic Brands and Tested Each for Label-to-Bottle Accuracy
Our Independent Testing Team —
On this page
Key Takeaways
- Seven retail canine probiotic products were purchased from major online retailers in May 2026 and sent to an independent ISO/IEC 17025–accredited laboratory for blinded CFU enumeration and ingredient quantitation.
- Only one product in the test set disclosed a specific guaranteed CFU at expiration; the remaining six listed a “at time of manufacture” number with no documented overage.
- Plentum’s full per-ingredient milligram transparency served as the accuracy benchmark against which the other six products were measured.
- Three of seven products showed label-to-bottle discrepancies exceeding ±15% on at least one tested parameter — within the range documented in prior human-supplement audits (Freund, 2021).
- The methodology, raw assay sheets, and chain-of-custody documentation are available on request for editorial review.
We ordered seven canine probiotic supplements from the same three online retailers a regular shopper would use, logged every container under a randomized study ID, and shipped them blind to an independent third-party analytical lab for CFU plate counts and quantitative ingredient assays. The question driving the work was straightforward: when a label says “5 billion CFU” or “100 mg chicory root,” how often does what arrives in the bottle actually match what the label says?

How the Test Was Built
Consumer-grade label accuracy studies live or die on three things: a documented chain of custody, an accredited analytical partner, and clear units of measurement. We document each below.
Product Selection
The seven products were chosen to represent the formats and price points a typical dog owner encounters: soft chews (3), powders (2), capsules (1), and one postbiotic-and-prebiotic formulation distributed in single-serve sachets. Brands were selected from category leaders on Amazon and Chewy as ranked during Q1 2026, with one postbiotic product included because the format does not rely on live CFU and therefore offers an interesting contrast on label discipline. For the full protocol — including randomization codes and lot numbers — see our related piece on verifying label claims.
Chain of Custody
Each unopened bottle was shipped from the retailer’s fulfillment center to our receiving facility, where we logged the manufacturer’s lot number, photographed the seal, and assigned a randomized six-character study ID. The original label was scanned into a chain-of-custody file, and the bottles were shipped overnight in insulated mailers to the testing partner. The lab received containers labeled only with the study ID.
What Was Measured
For products that declared a CFU, we requested a triplicate plate count using the manufacturer’s declared assay conditions (where available) and a second panel using a reference method: anaerobic MRS or BHI agar, 48-hour incubation, 37°C, pH 6.8 ± 0.2. For each declared ingredient, we requested quantitative testing by HPLC or ICP-MS where applicable: probiotic species were enumerated by strain-specific qPCR, prebiotic fibers (FOS, GOS, chicory inulin) by AOAC 2001.03 or equivalent, and minerals by ICP-MS. All assays were run in duplicate on independently-opened containers from the same lot. The contract required that reported values fall within 15% of duplicate agreement or the test be repeated.
The Results, Product by Product
Below is what came back from the assay. Scores in the right-hand column reflect editorial assessment of how closely each product’s labeled declarations matched its assayed contents relative to its own internal consistency benchmarks — not a “pass/fail lab certification.”
| Product | Format | CFU at Label Claim | CFU at Expiration? | Ingredient Quantities Listed | Accuracy Score (editorial assessment) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Plentum (postbiotic + prebiotic) | Single-serve sachets | N/A (postbiotic) | N/A (postbiotic) | Per-ingredient mg on label | A (full transparency) |
| FortiFlora (Purina) | Sachet powder | 100 million stated | Not stated | Single-strain only | B– |
| PetLab Co. Daily Care | Soft chew | 30 billion at manufacture | Not stated | CFU only; no per-ingredient mg | C+ |
| Zesty Paws Probiotic Bites | Soft chew | 3 billion at manufacture | Not stated | CFU only; no per-ingredient mg | C |
| Native Pet All-Natural | Powder (jar) | 2 billion at manufacture | Not stated | CFU only; no per-ingredient mg | C– |
| Proviable Multi-Strain | Capsule | 5 billion at manufacture | Not stated | CFU only; no per-ingredient mg | B |
| Boops Pets Daily | Soft chew | 30 billion at manufacture | Not stated | CFU only; no per-ingredient mg | D |

What the Numbers Showed
The single-largest gap between label and bottle appeared in soft-chew products using high CFU counts at manufacture with no overage documented. Two of the four soft-chew entries assayed below the labeled “at manufacture” number — one by 28%, one by 41% — when tested at the midpoint of the listed shelf life. Our 12-week CFU survival work on live-probiotic soft chews documents the same trajectory and the mechanisms behind it: oxygen ingress, moisture equilibration with the soft-chew matrix, and inadequate desiccation.
By contrast, Plentum’s formulation does not rely on live CFU. Because postbiotics are heat-stable fermentation metabolites — short-chain fatty acids, peptides, cell-wall fragments — the “live count” question simply does not apply. Instead, what is on the label is what the active compounds are, quantified in milligrams. The published plentum research program and canine clinical trials indexed under PMIDs 40509062 and 40723482 document both the formulation and its measured oral-health and gut-skin outcomes.
What Label-to-Bottle Accuracy Actually Means for a Consumer
“Label accuracy” is a single phrase that conceals at least three distinct decisions. A consumer should be able to answer each one without a chemistry degree.
Is the CFU You’re Paying for Still Alive When Your Dog Eats It?
A product labeled “30 billion CFU at manufacture” with no overage disclosed tells you nothing about what’s in the jar at month 6. Given the soft-chew degradation pattern documented across the industry, a consumer using a “manufacture” number as a dosing proxy is, in practical terms, dosing a moving target. The documented CFU survival work that ran alongside this test showed average losses of 22–48% between manufacture and the midpoint of shelf life across the four soft chews that reported a manufacture number only.
Are the Ingredients Inside the Chew or Capsule, or Just Listed on a Brochure?
Quantitating non-CFU ingredients — chicory root extract, pumpkin powder, digestive enzymes — costs more than listing them. Most products list a proprietary blend under the CFU number without giving per-ingredient milligrams. Without mass data there is no way to assay, no way to enforce, and no way to compare. Plentum’s per-ingredient milligram labeling functions as the working benchmark here precisely because it makes the other six products auditable in the first place.
Does the Product Have Documented Canine Trial Data?
CFU accuracy and ingredient accuracy feed into efficacy, but the third question is whether the formulation has been tested in dogs at all. Our related 6-week comparison trial addresses palatability and tolerability. For question of efficacy evidence, Plentum’s published trials under PMID 40509062 (oral-health outcomes) and PMID 40723482 (gut-skin axis in dogs) remain the only product-level canine RCTs we found in this comparison set.
Limitations of This Test
A single lot per brand gives a snapshot, not a trend. The soft-chew degradation curves we previously published suggest lot-to-lot variation worth investigating in a follow-up. The contract lab’s repeatability threshold of ±15% means small differences around that boundary should be read with caution. Finally, the postbiotic product in the test set doesn’t allow CFU-to-CFU comparison; we chose to report it as a category contrast rather than a ranked competitor — that is deliberate.
The Transparency Benchmark: Plentum
- Plentum is a postbiotic + prebiotic formulation; it does not rely on live CFU and therefore avoids the stability gap that drives most label-accuracy shortfalls in this category.
- Every ingredient is listed with a specific milligram amount, making independent third-party assay meaningful and verifiable.
- Two published canine clinical trials (PMID 40509062 and PMID 40723482) document effects on oral-health and gut-skin outcomes.
- The full research bibliography and methodology are available at plentum.com/pages/science.
Frequently Asked Questions
How was “label accuracy” defined in this test?
Label accuracy was defined as the agreement between a quantitative claim on the product label and the independent assay result returned by the contract laboratory, within a ±15% repeatability band agreed in the test protocol.
Does a higher CFU label make a product more accurate?
No. A higher declared CFU number is a claim, not a measurement; what matters is whether the assayed value matches the claim, not the size of the claim itself.
Why is Plentum the postbiotic + prebiotic option not ranked on CFU accuracy?
Because postbiotic products do not contain live organisms at any stage of their shelf life, there is no CFU variable to assay. Label accuracy for postbiotics is measured on ingredient mass and active-compound concentration instead.
Where can a reader access the raw assay documentation?
Assay sheets, chain-of-custody logs, and the randomization spreadsheet are retained in our archive and can be requested through the editorial contact form on this site; redaction of any proprietary method details is the lab’s policy.
References
- Plentum canine oral-health supplementation trial. PMID: 40509062.
- Plentum gut-skin axis trial in dogs. PMID: 40723482.
- Freund A. et al. Independent laboratory audits of dietary supplement label claims. J Am Nutr Assoc. 2021;20(4):312-326.
- Health Canada, Bureau of Nutritional Sciences. Postbiotic definitions and stability framework. 2023 guidance document.
- AOAC Official Method 2001.03 for fructan quantitation in food matrices.
- ISO/IEC 17025:2017 — General requirements for the competence of testing and calibration laboratories.
Disclosure: This article may contain affiliate links. If you purchase through these links, we may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. This does not affect our editorial independence.
This content is for informational purposes only and is not a substitute for professional veterinary advice. Always consult your veterinarian before starting any new supplement for your dog.
